Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Ginga     Album: New Life     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2350

New Life

  • New Life

  • Ginga

  • 31 May 2024

  • Caligola 2350

  • 8033433293505

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 224

  • Today views : 4

  • Created on : 12 May 2024

  • Total songs : 6

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

Ginga, born in 1986 in Luanda, capital of Angola, but grown and trained musically in Italy (real name Claudia Scapolo), begins to approach music as a pianist, and then cultivate his vocal skills, first perfecting in classical singing and then landing to jazz under the guidance of Kate Parker. Since 2010, he also frequented the gospel scene, becoming a regular backup singer for the famous vocal coach and American singer/producer Cheryl Porter, considered in Italy as the Queen of Gospel. Her ductile and deep voice. indisputably black, leads her to collaborate with Mario Biondi and Zucchero, Eros Ramazzotti and Stan Sargeant, until starting a career as a soloist sealed in 2017 by the Ep «Spring Time», released by Irma Records. Seven years later, again produced by bassist Felice Del Gaudio, Ginga takes another step forward with this «New Life», an album that brings her closer to jazz but also to Brazilian music, with which she seems to be very familiar. Five famous standards (one of which, The Nearness of You, is already present in «Spring Time») are added to the only original song on the album (the title–track too) We had appreciated not so long ago two beautiful instrumental versions of New Life in «Molambo», the last Felice Del Gaudio’s work as leader. Both vocal jazz fans and anyone who loves good music will appreciate this pleasant and refined work.


Track List

1) Summertime (George & Ira Gershwin)
2) In Love in Vain (Jerome Kern, Leo Robin)
3) Misty (Erroll Garner, Jonny Burke)
Água de beber (Tom Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes)
5) The Nearness of You (Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington) **
6) New Life (Felice & Antonio Michelangelo Del Gaudio)

  on compact–disc only; the song has already
      appeared on the digital Ep «Spring Time»


Ginga (vocals)
Alessandro Altarocca (piano, keyboards)
Felice Del Gaudio (double bass, electric bass, guitar)
Lele Veronesi (drums)
Paolo Caruso (percussion)

special guest:
Leonardo Caligiuri (piano) on track n. 5 **

Recording Data

Live recorded at Over Studio Recording, Cento (Ferrara), by Angelo Paracchini; mixed and mastered at Studio Villa Mazzacorati, Bologna, by Eugenio Bonetti in 2024