Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Claudio Cojaniz & Alessandro Turchet     Album: Madeleine     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2344


  • Madeleine

  • Claudio Cojaniz & Alessandro Turchet

  • 16 February 2024

  • Caligola 2344

  • 8033433293444

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 407

  • Today views : 2

  • Created on : 02 February 2024

  • Total songs : 8

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

The collaboration between Claudio Cojaniz and Caligola Records began in 2004 with «War Orphans», a duo with trombonist Giancarlo Schiaffini. The pianist of Friuli has long been one of the most original and consistent exponent of the Italian jazz scene, and with «Madeleine» he releases the eighteenth album as a leader for our label. Exactly twenty years later, Cojaniz returns to the duo’s line-up, one of his favorites, joining the proven and increasingly authoritative double bass of younger Alessandro Turchet, with whom he has been playing for over a decade both in trio and quartet. The pianist is not new to this kind of duo, as he had already experimented long and profitably with Franco Feruglio, a double bass plaayer of his generation, along with whom he had released two wonderful albums, «Blue Africa» and «Blue Question». Here you’ll find his seven compositions, and a new captivating interpretation of the famous ‘Round Midnight by Monk, his never forgotten model, an inspiration that makes you feel again in Buena suerte. If the opening acts are left to the melancholic and evocative melodies of Heraklia and Acqua Marina, in the festive and dancing Guadalupe, Africa is once again felt, love never forgotten. You can appreciate also the pressing Big Sur, with its sustained rhythm, where the interplay between his piano and Turchet’s double bass, at times sumptuous, perhaps reaches its peak. «Madeleine», just one year after «Black», is yet another pearl of the wonderful necklace on which Claudio Cojaniz continues to work, and that his many admirers hope will never end.

Track List

1) Heraklia
2) Acqua marina
3) Guadalupe
4) Buena suerte
5) Camilandia
6) Madeleine
7) Big Sur
8) ‘Round Midnight (Thelonious Monk)

All compositions, unless otherwise noted, by Claudio Cojaniz


Claudio Cojaniz (piano)
Alessandro Turchet (double bass)


Recording Data

Recorded in October 2022 and May 2023 at Digitalsound Studio, Vedelago (Treviso), by Walter Bertolo; mixed and masterted in November 2023 at Braidamatta Studio, Tricesimo (Udine) by Franco Feruglio


More Albums From Caligola Records