Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Mirco Mariottini     Album: Ipazia Live     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2347

Ipazia Live

  • Ipazia Live

  • Mirco Mariottini

  • 29 March 2024

  • Caligola 2347

  • 8033433293475

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 316

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 01 April 2024

  • Total songs : 7

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

This album is inspired by Hypatia, one of «Invisible Cities» by Italo Calvino, and dedicated to the Alexandrian namesake. She was a great philosopher and mathematician who lived in the 4th century and passionately devoted her life to astronomy. Her achievements were swept away by the craziest religious fanaticism: burned and dismembered by a group of christian fundamentalists incited by bishop Cyril, who is still celebrated as a saint today, Hypatia remains the symbol of strength, intelligence and determination of women in the ancient world. «Ipazia Live» is Mirco Mariottini’s third album released by our label, after «Visioni in musica» (2017), with a large ensemble and the addiction of an actor’s voice, and «Music for Clarinets and Piano» (2019), a duo with Stefano Battaglia. In this live recording Mariottini leads an excellent quartet, thanks to the presence of pianist Alessandro Lanzoni, one of the emerging talents of Italian jazz, and the proven bass–and–drum team of Guido Zorn and Paolo Corsi. Trombonist Glenn Ferris writes in the album’s liner notes: “…The musical performance of these musicians captured here, is the “raison d’être” for the beauty of this recording session. The perfection of a moment of creation by four “musician sculptors”. Life force emanating from their interplay, converging the body–mind–spirit of each of them into “oneness”…”.


Track List

1) Loop
2) Looking for You in the Night
3) Serial Point
4) Ipazia
5) Dancing Around You
6) Lullaby for Tony
7) Hunt

All compositions by Mirco Mariottini


Mirco Mariottini (clarinet, bass clarinet)
Alessandro Lanzoni (piano)
Guido Zorn (double bass)
Paolo Corsi (drums)

Recording Data

Live recorded at Piazza Cavallotti, Arcidosso (Grosseto), Italy, by Alessandro Marchionni on August 14, 2021; mixed on May 2/3, 2023, and mastered on September 8/9, 2023, in Montevarchi (Arezzo), by Paolo Corsi





More Albums From Caligola Records