Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Enzo Favata     Album: Os Caminhos de Garibaldi     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2343

Os Caminhos de Garibaldi

  • Os Caminhos de Garibaldi

  • Enzo Favata

  • 02 February 2024

  • Caligola 2343

  • 8033433293437

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 559

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 07 January 2024

  • Total songs : 14

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

The Enzo Favata’s musical project dedicated to Giuseppe Garibaldi shot our country in 2011, on the 150th anniversary of the Unification of Italy. It was recorded by Stefano Amerio and mastered only eight years later, in 2019. It remained four years in the drawer but finally, at dawn of 2024, it is released to ensure that jazz fans can enjoy a music that despite the years still appears fresh and enjoyable, current and engaging. The Sardinian saxophonist - who here also holds the bass clarinet - the creator of the project, shares both the writing of the songs and the construction of the sound with other members of a large band of seven elements. In «Os Caminhos de Garibaldi» Favata is flanked by a talented veteran like Giancarlo Schiaffini, from what was the bass–and–drum team of his proven quartet, the precious Danilo Gallo and U.T. Gandhi, but above all by three young promises that would soon be confirmed wonderful realities of the most recent Italian jazz: Alfonso Santimone, author of the arrangements, Flavio Davanzo and Filippo Vignato. Anita’s theme is particularly successful, lyrical and at times touching, but we also recall the tunes in which different musical traditions are used: the Latin American ones in Boa tarde and Habanera do Rio Grande, the Sardinian one in Milazzo, the classical one in Pensando que va, a personal reworking of Verdi’s Va pensiero, and the popular ones, both in the recurring leitmotif of Addio mia bella addio and in La corsicana garibaldina or in Inno di Garibaldi. We are in the presence of an album that appears coherent and balanced from beginning to end, managing to mediate with lucid creativity between respect for the musical structures and the freedom of improvisation.

Track List

01) Addio mia bella addio (traditional)
02) Boa tarde (E.Favata, A.Santimone)
03) Montevideo (E.Favata, F.Vignato)
04) Anita (E.Favata, A.Santimone)
05) Lo stratega (A.Santimone)
06) Habanera do Rio Grande (G.Schiaffini)
07) Addio mia bella addio – reprise (traditional)
08) Inno di Garibaldi (A.Santimone)
09) Ballao (E.Favata)
10) Pensando que va (E.Favata)
11) Milazzo (A.Santimone)
12) Addio mia bella addio – end (traditional)
13) Caprera aprile 1883 (E.Favata, A.Santimone, F.Davanzo)
14) La corsicana garibaldina (traditional)

All arangements by Alfonso Santimone, assisted by Enzo Favata


Enzo Favata (tenor and soprano sax, bass clarinet)
Flavio Davanzo (trumpet, flugelhorn)
Giancarlo Schiaffini (trombone)
Filippo Vignato (trombone)
Alfonso Santimone (piano)
Danilo Gallo (double bass)
U.T. Gandhi (drums)

Recording Data

Recorded and mixed in April 2011, mastered and edited in March 2019, at Artesuono Recording Studios, Cavalicco (Udine), Italy, by Stefano Amerio.

More Albums From Caligola Records