Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Matteo Mosolo & Flavio Zanuttini     Album: Half Black Half White Half Yellow (Suite for Charles Mingus)     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2335

Half Black Half White Half Yellow (Suite for Charles Mingus)

  • Half Black Half White Half Yellow (Suite for Charles Mingus)

  • Matteo Mosolo & Flavio Zanuttini

  • 07 July 2023

  • Caligola 2335

  • 8033433293352

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 481

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 12 June 2023

  • Total songs : 9

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

After playing and singing the Mingus’s Freedom, in his solo album recorded during the pandemic («Isolation», Caligola 2281), Matteo Mosolo felt the need, in the centenary of the birth of one of the masters of modern jazz (1922–2022), to pay homage to him by writing a suite for double bass and trumpet in nine movements, which in a humble and respectful way tries to tell in a personal way the life and works of a restless soul but full of love as Charles Mingus. "There is no musician in the world of jazz" – the double bass player from Udine told us – "who managed to excite me in such a strong and definitive way as he did". Thanks to the discovery of his music in 2005 Mosolo began to take his first steps in the world of jazz, and at his side there was then the equally young Flavio Zanuttini who made him discover and listen for the first time to the album «Blues and Roots». The two musicians have known each other for almost twenty years – the interplay that distinguishes this recording is there to show us – and it therefore seemed natural to Mosolo to ask his friend trumpeter – who in the meantime developed a technique and a very personal and versatile poetic – to accompany him on this journey in the Mingus’s world. It is still the double bass player who reveals to us that "it took only a few bars to notice that the music we were playing was going in the right direction".


Track List

1) Under Watts Towers
2) Half Black Half White Half Yellow
3) Too Black for Beethoven
4) A Night in Tijuana
5) Nice of You to Have Come to My Funeral
6) Fable of Mingus
7) Theme for Eric Dolphy
8) Let the Children Have Music, Not Noise, Music
9) A Beach Full of Whales

All compositions by Matteo Mosolo


Flavio Zanuttini (trumpet)
Matteo Mosolo (double bass)

Recording Data

Recorded on 28th September 2022 at Mobile Recording Studios, Tricesimo (Udine), Italy, by Franco Feruglio; mixed and mastered in 2023 at Graceless Home Studio, Udine, by Matteo Mosolo


More Albums From Caligola Records