Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Baba Sissoko & Jean-Philippe Rykiel     Album: Paris Bamako Jazz     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2330

Paris Bamako Jazz

  • Paris Bamako Jazz

  • Baba Sissoko & Jean-Philippe Rykiel

  • 14 April 2023

  • Caligola 2330

  • 8033433293307

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 739

  • Today views : 2

  • Created on : 23 March 2023

  • Total songs : 11

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

After the exciting adventure of «Griot Jazz» (Caligola 2295), Baba Sissoko decided to record a duet with Jean–Philippe Rykiel. Upon hearing the invitation from Baba, the French keyboardist simply answered: ”Whenever you want, I am ready”. The artistic and human bond created between the two musicians while recording the previous album as a quartet convinced them a sequel could and had to be made. The sequel has become reality with «Paris Bamako Jazz», a record consisting of eleven wonderful tracks played and recorded in one afternoon at Jean–Philippe Rykiel’s studio in Paris with the spirit of a “live” recording. One can feel the authentic pleasure of meeting to share the magic of playing together. The two musicians, bound by mutual trust and the feeling of naturally moving in the same direction, created music that is simple, yet not trivial – music that is nostalgic and cheerful at the same time and carry the listener to a dimension of peace, joy, respect, love for life and music. A work that is able to accompany us on an evocative journey to discover new worlds, an album to listen all in one breath, from beginning to end.


Track List

01) Beni Dakan
02) Badouwade
03) Nebafo Masaye
04) Paris Bamako Jazz
05) Tienebedeli
06) Makono So
07) Donfoli
08) Mon Lion
09) A Barica
10) Atarida
11) Aukanason

All compositions by Baba Sissoko and Jean-Philippe Rykiel



Baba Sissoko (vocals, ngoni, tamani, djembe, yabarà, karagnan)
Jean–Philippe Rykiel (piano, keyboards)


Recording Data

Recorded on 10th May 2022 at Jean–Philippe Rykiel Recording Studio, Paris, France; mixed and mastered in December 2022 at KayaStudio, Quattromiglia (Cosenza), Italy, by Francesco Malizia.


More Albums From Caligola Records