Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Federico Gili     Album: Cantabile     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2316


  • Cantabile

  • Federico Gili

  • 16 September 2022

  • Caligola 2316

  • 8033433293161

  • Digital, Jazzos, Caligola Records

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 850

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 28 July 2022

  • Total songs : 10

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

«Cantabile», the solo album by the talented accordionist Federico Gili, who was born in Umbria in 1985, consists of six original tunes, two well–known standards and two songs taken from the repertoire of friends and musicians Ramberto Ciammarughi (Amici) and Fabio Zeppetella (Choro pra Gianlu). In the title–track it’s worth highlighting the bandoneon of Daniele di Bonaventura, who produced the album. A musician gifted with a marked melodic sensitivity and refined taste in the harmonies, as well as a brilliant composer, Gili is a true master of jazz accordion. It’s not by chance that one of his teachers and inspirations, Richard Galliano, has gifted him with heartfelt, unconventional liner notes. The priceless harmonies of Richard (the song is dedicated to his mentor, the French accordionist) are filled with beauty. The style of Federico Gili’s accordion is intense, has a polychromatic tone, is imbued with melodiousness and enriched with refined dynamics. In Aria, another composition of his, the unique, dreamy mood is what strikes the most. Chorinho pra Gianlu is a tribute to the magical Brazil, a country he particularly likes: with a pressing phrasing, he conveys all his joyfulness which is always backed up by a remarkable command of rhythm. His personal interpretation of known and overused standards like All the Things You Are, the well–chosen opening track, and Days of Wine and Roses are as essential and dry as they are deep and dense. Making a solo album has been challenging, but Gili has faced and overcome it in the best possible way. Richard Galliano confirms that in his liner notes by saying “with this terrific solo album, Federico Gili pushes the apparent limits of the accordion, or rather unleashes the harmonic and melodic potential of the instrument...”, and finishes, with words that raise no doubt “…Federico is a great musician, a great artist.”.

Track List

01) All the Things You Are (Jerome Kern)
02) Richard
03) Aria
04) Chorinho pra Ila
05) Amici (Ramberto Ciammarughi)
06) Improvviso secondo
07) Corale (Racconto di un’alba)
08) Choro pra Gianlu (Fabio Zeppetella)
09) Cantabile (*)
10) Days of Wine and Roses (Henry Mancini)

All music, unless otherwise noted, composed by Federico Gili


Federico Gili (accordion)

special guest:
Daniele di Bonaventura (bandoneon) on track 9

Recording Data

Recorded on 29th November 2021, mixed and mastered in 2022, at Nufabric Basement Recording Studio, Fermo, Italy, by Daniele “Jack” Rossi; produced by Daniele di Bonaventura.


More Albums From Caligola Records