Artist: Gerardo Pepe     Album: Orchestrando Piano     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2315

Orchestrando Piano

  • Orchestrando Piano

  • Gerardo Pepe

  • 19 August 2022

  • Caligola 2315

  • 8033433293154

  • Digital, Jazzos, Caligola Records

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 637

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 28 July 2022

  • Total songs : 7

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

Gerardo Pepe, who was born in Gravina di Puglia in 1990, completed his Jazz Piano studies at the Conservatory of Bologna, the city where he’s still living. He then specialized in Composition and Arrangement, two activities which have gradually replaced his career as a pianist. His choice has soon borne fruit and earned him Sassari’s important contest “Scrivere in Jazz” twice: in 2020, in the Original Composition category and in the Arrangement one in 2022. The current year has been significant for him as his dream, delayed by the pandemic, finally came true: recording his first album as leader of a large ensemble, only slightly smaller than a big band. And what better way to do so than with a tribute to some piano masters, musicians that have certainly inspired him throughout his studies, by arranging a few renowned compositions for a large group? Gerardo Pepe explains that well in his album liner notes: “…The challenge I faced was translate piano jazz into the style of a small jazz orchestra and according to my style and sensitivity. The result is «Orchestrando Piano», a creative and sincere body of work I put my heart and soul into and something which wouldn’t have been possible without the help, determination and professionalism of the twelve musicians who took part in it and whom I thank very much...”. «Orchestrando Piano» has been carefully prepared and leaves nothing to chance, which is rare nowadays. Besides six tracks chosen from the repertoire of five great pianists (two are by Thelonious Monk) there’s Remembering Charles, an original composition by the young leader dedicated to Charles Mingus, on what would have been his 100th anniversary. He isn’t a pianist, but a great jazz master for sure.


Track List

1) Nigerian Marketplace (Oscar Peterson)
2) We See (Thelonious Monk)

3) Song for My Father (Horace Silver)
4) Ask Me Now (Thelonious Monk)
5) Passion Dance (McCoy Tyner)
6) Three Bags Full (Herbie Hancock)

7) Remembering Charles (Gerardo Pepe)

All arrangements by Gerardo Pepe


Gerardo Pepe (conduction) with
Andrea Salvato (flute), Daniele D’Alessandro (clarinet, bass clarinet), Federico Califano (alto sax), Giacomo Casadio (tenor sax), Francesco Milone (baritone sax), Antonello Del Sordo and Matteo Pontegavelli (trumpet), Roberto Solimando (trombone), Saverio Zura (chitarra), Filippo Galbiati (piano), Filippo Cassanelli (double bass), Dario Rossi (drums)

Recording Data

Recorded on 12/13/14 November 2021, mixed from December 2021 to February 2022, at Over Studio Recording, Cento (Ferrara), by Angelo Paracchini; mastered and edited in March 2022 at Level Mastering Studio, Bologna, by Nicola Fantozzi.


More Albums From Caligola Records