Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator

Artist: Massimo Donà     Album: Frammentità     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2306


  • Frammentità

  • Massimo Donà

  • 25 February 2022

  • Caligola 2306

  • 8033433293062

  • Digital, Jazzos, Caligola Records

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 757

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 29 January 2022

  • Total songs : 10

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

The last installment of a triptych which started in 2020 with «Iperboliche Distanze» (reading by David Riondino on texts by Andrea Emo) and went on the following year with «Magister Puck», a divertissement around the “song form”, «Frammentità» seems the most convincingly jazz album among the three. Massimo Donà’s trio, which comprises Michele Polga and Davide Ragazzoni and released «Il Santo che vola» in 2016, was enriched by Stefano Olivato’s bass first, and then by the creative, yet solid trombone of Mauro Ottolini. In «Frammentità», too, words play a significant role, even more so as they belong to Carlo Invernizzi, one of the great Italian poets of the Twentieth Century. Donà knew the Milanese intellectual well and came up with the brilliant idea of recording him before he passed away in 2018. Three years later he decided to add his music to such an emotional, heartfelt recital. It’s a carefully planned, yet appropriate and respectful project which does not undervalue, but actually highlights Invernizzi’s poetry and his ingenious effort to deconstruct and update the meaning of words, something similar was done by free–jazz against jazz conventions in the Sixties. Therefore, the inspiration comes more from Roswell Rudd, Archie Shepp or Don Cherry rather than Miles Davis, a clear influence on the Venetian trumpeter. Everything becomes increasingly clearer in the only track where music alone is left to speak, Pitù, which sounds lyrical and nostalgic at the same time. An old recording by Donà’s band with Francesco Bearzatti, which acts as a backdrop to the final poetry L’erta sempre nuda, is dug out while in the previous tracks one can hear, among the others, Pasquale Mirra on the vibraphone and Paolo Damiani on the cello. That’s definitely an album to listen to but also, why not, to read with care (all the poems are in the booklet).


Track List

Frammentità Suite
01) Secrezie lucinanti
02) S’abbatte il vento sui collivi

03) Nel vortice senza fine
04) In annichilo

05) Dove sorge il canto
06) Turbolenze torrentizie

07) Picchiluce

08) L’usto inesausto del niente

09) Pitù

10) L’erta sempre nuda

All compositions and arrangements by Massimo Donà
Lyrics by Carlo Invernizzi


Massimo Donà (trumpet, flute, Fender Rhodes, rumors)
Carlo Invernizzi (voice)
Mauro Ottolini (trombone)

Michele Polga (tenor and soprano sax)
Stefano Olivato (bass)

Davide Ragazzoni (drums, percussion, electronic drums)

Paolo Damiani (cello)
Pasquale Mirra (vibes)
Francesco Bearzatti (tenor sax)
Lele Rodighiero (keybpards)
Nicola Sorato (electric bass)
Bebo Baldan (synth)
Max Ambassador (vocals)



Recording Data

Recorded between 2019 and 2020 at Blue Train’s Recording Studio, Mira (Venezia), Italy, by Antonio Morgante and Giorgio Spolaor; mixed and mastered in Fall 2021 by Antonio Morgante at the same studio.

More Albums From Caligola Records