Artist: D. Cordisco B.Paterson E.Coppola     Album: Only For The Moment     Label: Tosky Records     Code: TSK026

Only For The Moment

  • Only For The Moment

  • D. Cordisco B.Paterson E.Coppola

  • 19 March 2019

  • TSK026

  • 0888295734615

  • Digital, Jazzos, Tosky Records

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 3275

  • Today views : 3

  • Created on : 27 February 2019

  • Total songs : 2

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Tosky Records

Press Release

Only For The Moment (CD Album)
Daniele Cordisco, Ben Paterson, Elio Coppola | Tosky Records®

An exceptional trio, which combines technical elegance and great interplay. The excellent American organist Ben Paterson is accompanied by two long-established musicians in the Italian music scene: Daniele Cordisco on guitar and Elio Coppola on drums. This new trio project “Only For The Moment” proposes a nice jazz repertoire revisiting the style of the great Jimmy Smith. We also rediscover all the Jazz and Blues sounds that highlight the origins of the organist and singer from Philadelphia, but also the extraordinary quality of the two Italian artists. What the trio wears is a whole mainstream dress with different original compositions, written by the individual components of this new line-up. 

Daniele Cordisco, born in Campobasso in 1988, approached music from a young age thanks to his father, a major jazz guitarist in Italy.?Today he has a resume as a professional musician, in fact he had the opportunity to share the stage with some of the most important musicians/artists on the Italian music scene and beyond, including: Jeff Young (organist with Sting), Fabrizio Bosso, Danilo Rea, Max Ionata, Stefano Di Battista, Gary Smulyan, Godwin Louis, Jerry Weldon, Gege’ Munari, Giorgio & Dario Rosciglione, Jimmy LaRocca, Julian Oliver Mazzariello, Deidda brothers, Lorenzo Tucci, Gregory Hutchinson, Pierre Boussaguet, Sarah McKenzie, Gregory Generet, Michael Rosen, Ronnie Cuber, Daniele Scannapieco, Roberto Gatto, Donna McElroy, Christian Maurer, Roy Hargrove, Esperanza Spalding etc. .. ?He has been performing regularly with Renzo Arbore and its Swing Maniacs.?Among the major awards that he received are: the scholarship for the “Berklee College of Music in Boston”, 1st prize at the “Chicco Bettinardi” (Piacenza 2011, achieved with Daniele Basirico and Giovanni Campanella), 1st prize at the International Competition “Young Talents Of Jazz Guitar” (Turin, 2007), the prize for best guitarist in the “Tuscia Jazz Contest” in the summer of 2010 and has crowned the dream of being able to show off in front of one of the stars of the jazz guitar of all time, Jim Hall. The meeting ‘took place in the competition “The Genius Of Eddie Lang” (Isernia), where the American guitarist was invited as president of the jury. Daniele Cordisco won 1st prize and the chance would have been just the decisive vote of Jim Hall. He recorded his first album, “This Could Be The Start”, for the italian label “Nuccia” in 2014 and since then he has recorded with: Jerry Weldon, Ben Paterson, Benny Benack Denise King, Stjepko Gut and many others. Today he teaches jazz guitar at the “Conservatorio di Musica G. Da Venosa” in Potenza and at Centro Ottava in Rome.

Combining a joyful swing feel with an impeccable touch, Ben Paterson has quickly established himself as one of the most exciting young pianists on the Jazz scene today, garnering international acclaim for his superb musicianship and engaging performances.  Originally from Philadelphia, Ben studied both classical and jazz music before moving to the great city of Chicago, absorbing the unique blend of Jazz and Blues that can only be found in the Windy City.  Now based in New York, Ben is poised to bring his unique talents and style to a wider audience, performing regularly at top notch venues around town, and at clubs and festivals around the world.  In 2018 Ben was named as the First Place Winner of the Ellis Marsalis International Jazz Piano Competition, with judges including Ellis and Branford Marsalis, Arturo O’Farrill and Jonathan Batiste.  Notable collaborations include work with NEA Jazz Master Von Freeman, Bobby Broom, Johnny O’Neal, Red Holloway, Eldee young, Jerry Weldon, Peter Bernstein and Ed Cherry to name a few, with performances opening for groups like Steely Dan and B.B. King.  Ben has released 6 CD’s under his own name: Breathing Space (OA2 Records 2007) Blues For Oscar (Meetinghouse Records 2012), Essential Elements (MAXJAZZ 2013), For Once In My Life (Origin 2015), That Old Feeling (Cellar Live 2018), and Live at Van Gelder’s (Cellar Live 2018).

Born in 1985, originally from Naples, Elio Coppola is one of the best jazz drummers on the jazz scene. He began his studies with drummer Stefano Tatafiore and continued with the great master Kenny Washington. Has played with some of the best musicians in the world including Benny Golson, Joey De Francesco, Peter Bernstein, Dado Moroni, Ronnie Cuber and others. It is important to remember the friendship and mutual esteem that binds him to the great master Tullio De Piscopo who recently invited him to the Mercadante theater in Naples to open one of his concerts. He has recently released his first album ititled “Infinity” with the brilliant Emmet Cohen and bassist Giuseppe Venezia. They, together, have been performing around Italy in about 60 concerts and also in the in New York, in the famous Guggenheim Museum, Small Jazz Club, Mezzrow Jazz Club, Dizzy’s Club Coca Cola and Birdland Jazz Club and major jazz venues in the States. Elio is currently workin’ with the Yamaha Music School and the Pomigliano D’Arco Jam Music School (NA). He has also held seminars on the history and evolution of drums in jazz music. Recently received the “Excellencies of the City” award from the municipal administration of Somma Vesuviana (in the province of Naples) for having brought the name of his city around the world.

Track List

1- SPOON (D.Cordisco)
3- YESTERDAYS (J.Kern/O.Harbach)
5- LATELY (S.Wonder)
6- THE BEST THINGS (D.Cordisco/B.Paterson)
7- WILD PIG (D.Cordisco)
8- WHAT WILL I TELL MY HEART (I.Gordon/J.Lawrence)
9- JUST FRIENDS (J.Klenner/S.Lewis)



Daniele Cordisco (guitar)
Ben Paterson (hammond)
Elio Coppola (drums)

Recording Data

Produced by Giorgio Lovecchio and Davide Belcastro – Tosky Records®
Published by Tosky Records® ©(2019)
Recorded  on March 3th,  2018 at Nuccia (Rome) – Sound engineer: Giuseppe Vadala’
Mixed and Mastered on February 9-10th, 2019  at Tosky Factory (Rome) – Sound Engineers: Giorgio Lovecchio, Davide Belcastro
Cover Art &  Booklet design: Giorgio Lovecchio and Elio Coppola
Photo and Video: Cosimo Trimboli, Tosky Factory

More Albums From Tosky Records