Artist: Juan Esteban Cuacci, Mariel Martínez, La Maquina del Tango     Album: Acá Lejos     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2308

Acá Lejos

  • Acá Lejos

  • Juan Esteban Cuacci, Mariel Martínez, La Maquina del Tango

  • 22 April 2022

  • Caligola 2308

  • 8033433293086

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 131

  • Today views : 1

  • Created on : 31 March 2022

  • Total songs : 13

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

Following the same path as their predecessors and firmly believing in the need for a continuous renewal of this genre, trying to break established schemes but respecting the roots that characterize their own culture, Juan Esteban Cuacci, Mariel Martínez and La Máquina del Tango recorded their debut album, «Acá Lejos» for Caligola Records in Bassano del Grappa. The five instrumental tunes are all by Juan Esteban Cuacci, also responsible for the musical direction and arrangements of the project, the other seven tunes, sung by Mariel Martínez, are all reworkings of traditional tangos, bringing a new point of view that invites to recreate a new contemporary tango, without distorting its origins. La Maquina del Tango is the meeting between three Argentine musicians moved to Madrid and two Spanish musicians, Laura Asensio López, double bass player of Orquesta Nacional de España, and the skilled drummer Lauren Stradmann. An original quintet, with a viola instead of the bandoneon. «Acá Lejos» reflects the possibility of a natural evolution of this popular music, a diagonal that bridges traditional tango with the new contemporary tango, preserving all the genealogy of the genre while bringing a new sonority to the music.


Track List

01) Loquedia I
02) Melod
ía de Arrabal (C. Gardel, A. La Pera, M. Battistella)
03) Lluvia fue (R. Calvo, G. Kehoe)
04) Urgente urgente

05) Maquillaje (V. Expósito, H. Expósito)
06) Sudestada tonal

07) Pena mulata (S. Piana, H. Manzi)
08) Loquedia cero

09) De Buenos Aires morena (C. Guzmán, H. Negro)
10) Acá lejos

11) Solo se trata de vivir (L. Nebbia)
12) Golondrinas (C. Gardel, A. La Pera)

13) Toda mi vida (A. Troilo, J. M. Contursi)

All compositions, except where indicated, by Juan Esteban Cuacci
Direction and arrangements by Juan Esteban Cuacci




Mariel Martínez (vocals) out on 1/4/6/8/10
Juan Esteban Cuacci (piano, Hammond on 1/4/9)
Álvarez (viola) out on 12/13
Laura Asensio López (double bass) out on 12/13
Lauren Stradmann (drums, percussion) out on 12/13

Recording Data

Recorded in September and mixed in December 2021 at Art Music Recording Studio, Bassano del Grappa (Vicenza), Italy, by Diego Piotto


More Albums From Caligola Records