Artist: Dino Plasmati & Antonio Tosques - GuitArt Quartet     Album: On Air     Label: Caligola Records     Code: Caligola 2287

On Air

  • On Air

  • Dino Plasmati & Antonio Tosques - GuitArt Quartet

  • 23 April 2021

  • Caligola 2287

  • 8033433292874

  • Digital, Jazzos, Caligola Records

  • No covers downloadable for Guests

No tracks downloadable for Guests

  • Total views : 531

  • Today views : 2

  • Created on : 08 June 2021

  • Total songs : 10

  • Total comments : 0

  • From: Caligola Records

Press Release

Even if the Hammond organ plays a major role within GuitArt Quartet, the band led by two guitarists as its name clearly suggests. The musicians are Antonio Tosques, born in Foggia in 1965, and Dino Plasmati, born in Matera in 1972, both having significant artistic careers. They lead the quartet with assurance and great interplay, so much so that the ten tracks of «On Air» flow smoothly, without a hitch and are never a reason to compete and see “who plays faster”.
There’s much respect for the nine selected standards which belong to the great American songbook as well as to contemporary composers like Rollins, Coltrane and Coleman. Respect doesn’t mean playing those standards stuffily or simply showing off technical skills, but rather a sincere and original tribute to the jazz tradition, something the two musicians know and love deeply. The powerful sound produced by the two guitars – they are played with a traditional technique anyway, without the help of electronics – strikes from the very first notes of the fast–paced, but also hypnotic Airegin; it is effective even when the atmosphere becomes more relaxed, as is the case for the sole original song in the album, Boundless Energy by Dino Plasmati, where space is made for the excellent bluesy organ played by Bruno Montone.
The relaxed manner of the guitars tackling the mellow In Your Own Sweet Way is impressive, as well as the pensive delicacy which surrounds the performance of I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face, thanks to the efficient work by Montone. Marcello Nisi’s drumming, at ease even with the Latin rhythm of When Sunny Gets Blue, is discreet and always on point in every track. The Coleman–esque blues Turnaround, played superbly by the two guitarists with no rhythm section, closes in the best of ways a pleasant, rich in contents album to listen to in one breath.


Track List

01) Airegin (S. Rollins)
02) Everything I Love (C. Porter)
03) Lazy Bird (J. Coltrane)
04) Boundless Energy (D. Plasmati)
05) In Your Own Sweet Way (D. Brubeck)
06) I’ve Accustomed to Her Face (F. Loewe, A.J. Lerner)
07) My Secret Love (R. Vogel)
08) When Sunny Gets Blue (M. Fisher, J. Segal)
09) Who Can I Turn To? (A. Newley, L. Bricusse)
10) Turnaround (O. Coleman)

All arrangements by Antonio Tosques and Dino Plasmati, except Lazy Bird, by A.Tosques, and  Boundless Energy by D.Plasmati


Dino Plasmati (electric guitar)
Antonio Tosques (electric guitar)
Bruno Montone (hammond)
Marcello Nisi (drums)

Recording Data

Recorded, mixed and mastered at Lab Sonic Studio, Matera, Italy, on July 21 and 22, 2020, by Francesco Altieri

More Albums From Caligola Records